earie 2014 news contact
Young Economists' Essay Awards

The main purpose of the Young Economists' Essay Awards (YEEAs) is to encourage young researchers to participate in the EARIE Annual Conference.


The awards, bestowed annually, are meant for exceptionally innovative and high-level papers written by researchers who:


a) are under the age of 35, and 

b) have completed their PhD less than 5 years ago. 


For papers with multiple authors, each author should satisfy both the criteria (a) and (b).


Each year, one of the YEEAs is dedicated to the late Paul Geroski. This dedication is given to the paper that makes the most significant policy contribution. This year will be the 9th time that EARIE bestows this award in Paul Geroski’s memory. 


The EARIE 2014 Young Economists' Essay Awards (YEEAs)

If you fulfil the above criteria and you would like to submit your paper for the EARIE 2014 YEEAs, please indicate this in the corresponding checkbox on the EARIE 2014 paper submission form.


The annual EARIE YEEAs are sponsored by Elsevier.


The EARIE 2014 YEEA Committee is composed of John Asker (University of California Los Angeles), Heski Bar-Isaac (University of Toronto), Luís M. B. Cabral (NYU Stern), Liran Einav (Stanford University), Patrick Rey (Toulouse School of Economics), John Sutton (London School of Economics) and Tommaso Valletti (Imperial and Università di Roma “Tor Vergata”). 


The 2014 YEEA winners are:


Matt Backus, Cornell University, with the paper “WHY IS PRODUCTIVITY CORRELATED WITH COMPETITION?" (9th EARIE Paul Geroski Prize for the most significant policy contribution)


Daniel Garrett, Toulouse School of Economics, Renato Gomes, Toulouse School of Economics, and Lucas Maestri, FGV/EPGE, with the paper “COMPETITIVE SCREENING UNDER HETEROGENEOUS INFORMATION”


Shengyu Li, Durham University Business School, with the paper “A STRUCTURAL MODEL OF PRODUCTIVITY, UNCERTAIN DEMAND, AND EXPORT DYNAMICS” 


The winners will be presented with the EARIE 2014 YEEAs during the Opening Address of EARIE Milan 2014. 




Copyright © 2014 EARIE - Università Bocconi created by effedesign